Back to the Cap

Hermana Edwards is doing great and settling in nicely to her new area. She told me not to worry because she is not in Zone 18 (her favorite thug area) and she believes she is in Zone 11 which is to the north of Guatemala City. She is excited to start working there and loves her new companion from El Salvador and her new apartment.

Thank you to all for your love, support and prayers for her over the last few weeks as she has been mending from the dengue fever and gall bladder surgery.

Date: Mon, 5 May 2014 13:33:47 -0600
Subject: back to the cap

Well folks we meet again.

First off I would like to proudly report that I am currently not sweating….. that is the first time in 7 months…. now you are probably asking why….. it is because I had changes…….

My heart hurts, but my new area is great. Let me tell you a little about where I am. I am in the capital so that is neat. I am in a ward….. again first time in 7 months-…. that has 200 people. My obispo is active, we have paved roads, the road have names, people have cars and couches, there are no wild cows and horses roaming in the streets, nor is there snakes. Wow I am almost in the United States…. casi….. Oh yeah and we have a Walmart! Yippee!

Well I have only had a few days here in this area but it is great. It is harder to get into houses because the people just don’t want to open their doors. I have had more people reject me in the past few days then I had in all of my time in Puerto Barrios. So their are definitely pluses and well not pluses here. But the members here are one of a kind. In my ward we have some of the first members of Guatemala. Isn’t that nuts, I have the great opportunity to know the first pioneers of Guatemala. I am so fortunate, these people have a strong pure love for the gospel.

Honestly I do not have much to say about this week….. this next week I am sure there will be more. But I do want to share a thought that came to mind while I was studying this past week. I was reading about the atonement. I love the atonement. The atonement truly was the perfect sacrifice, because it was not just a sacrifice for a little bit of time but it was an eternal sacrifice. What a blessing. And it is through this sacrifice that we can do hard things. Yeah that is all I got.

I hope you are all doing well. Keep hoping on, keep keeping on. Pray every day. ANd do goood things! I love you all, have a good week and a wonderful mothers day!

Con amor,
Hermana Edwards

Leave a Reply

