Rat Bite……. Oh no! Week 23

Hola good people of the world. Another week down here in the boondocks of Guatemala.

Well first things first. I am such a numbskull and I forgot to say HAPPY NEVADA DAY to all of you Nevadans and non-Nevadans, I am the worst Nevadan in the world and I apologize for that but home means Nevada to me. So please forgive me for my lack of Nevada Pride.

Now on to the business of the week. Well of you cute kids probably in some way or another celebrated Halloween this past week. Pues (so) here in Guatemala we do not really celebrate that, but on November 1 we do celebrate Dia de los Muertos. Yeah that is right we celebrate the dead. And being a Guatemalan now you had better to believe that I joined in the festivities. SO we headed out to the cemetary and it was crazy…. like literally crazy. The streets were packed, just people everywhere. In the cemetery people were selling food and treats and painting the tombs and sitting on top of their dead ancestors and eating lunch. My favorite part is how they leave food for their dead to eat that night once everybody leaves. I have got some pretty good ideas of what I am going to when all my family is dead. I am just going to leave plates of jello and casserole everywhere. I mean I do not want to sound morbid but your grave sites are going to look awesome so do not even fret.

Well this past week we had interviews with the President and his wife. So, we had to travel about 2 hours out of Puerto barrios to meet them. Interviews were good, Sister Watts just talked about how cute my mom is and I was like I know, she birthed me. And then President told me that I was a blessing in the mission and I said I know that is what I have been trying to tell everyone here. All in all they were so good and it just gave me the motivation to work a little harder. And with that motivation we went out the next morning and knocked on doors, but in Spanish the word for knock is actually translates to touch so we touched doors for hours. And we got rejected so many times I am talking like 98 percent but it was worth it because we have a new investigator. This man his name is Alan. We only found him because I wanted to help this little lady get to church. I do not know how appropriate it was for a Mormon misisonary to walk a lady to a Catholic church but when I did this man got out of his car and came over and started to talk to me. He asked me who I was and what was my purpose. Later he said he wanted to learn more and that we can eat for free at his restaurant…. I would call that a deal my friends.

This week really has been so good. Little weird things have happend like – I got bit by a rat and a bird on the same finger and the other Hermanas that I work with here have to go get tested for Tuberculosis but that is okay…. I think. We got to watch the broadcast last night. If any of you are not aware LDV of USU sang in the broadcast. I saw so many of my friends and felt a little homesick, but then I told myself to get over it because I have got some time to serve. But it was amazing because I was able to bring an investigator and a menos activo that does not want anything to do with the church to listen to the words of the leaders of the church. I was just so impressed that I could be watching this in an area that most of the time we do not have power or paved roads at the same time as my family and friends. The Church must be true.

As always I am so grateful to be here. What a blessing it is. This place and this mission is changing me, my heart is a little softer and my skin is a little blacker. Thank you for your support and I hope that you are all doing well. I love you all more than I love biting rats and birds! Have a good week yall!

Con Amor

Leave a Reply

