Week 15 – Word from Guatemala

Oh my dear people it is time for the weekly update!

So this week I got 2 boyfriends and that is about the highlight so until next time…. Just kidding well kind of. This week has probably been the hardest in my 3 month stay. We had such a wonderful P day and thought the week would follow as such but Tuesday night we got some pretty rough news. Let me draw this out for you.

So the area that I am in right now we share with the Elders. These Elders have the more difficult more dangerous part of our area. I love these Elders dearly they work so hard and are so wonderful. Tuesday night Elder Kilts gave us a little call. I cannot really hear what he is saying but after they bid their adioses my comp came into our room and started to cry. She told me that we were meeting with the Elders at 7:30 the next morning to meet their investigators and learn about their area because they had emergency transfers. This whole area was now ours. I then started to cry. Talk about a hot mess and doubly messy because I was trying to speak in Espanol. The next day we hiked through their area and I just about died. We met with the Bishop who was freaking out because he did not want to put hermanas in this area so he set up some rules for us.

But after the first day of shock I really love this area. This is the first time that Hermanas have been put in this area. Part of the area we have to leave by 4:00 because there is no electricity and in this area I am a walking wonder these past couple of days. Kids run into the streets and tug on my skirt and ask me where I am from. I would say the United States (obvio) and they would run back to their parents “You were right she is from the US” Needless to say we had an abundance of street contacting. But the hard part came from the other parts if our area. Lately the gang activity has been on the rise so people are afraid to open their doors or be out on the street. So our number of lessons was well less than hot. But all is well in the Villas de Alameda.

But now to the important news of the week my new boyfriends. Things are moving pretty quick and I keep telling them I am a missionary but they do not quite understand, it could be because one of them is 3 and the other 73 – but that’s okay.

This week has certainly been hard and really wet but we are learning. We are learning a whole heck of a lot. I am learning about change. First, change in our area but also change in people. We met this woman about a week ago whose insides were literally swimming in alcohol. She looked me in the eyes and said she wanted to learn. We found her when the Elders were showing us their area and she told us she was drinking less just in case she saw me again. We talked about life and she told me I was wasting my time because I have not had babies yet…. but we talked about God and His love. I am also learning how powerful the youth are. We hear frequently that there is so much power in the Youth and oh that is so true. Our ward has many problems and we have not really figured out what to do. We have prayed and prayed and finally we need to work with the youth and hopefully one day through their example their parents will want to change.

I want you all to know how much I love you. Thanks for the cards and pictures and what not. I really appreciate it. I want you to know that this work is true. And that this work can only be accomplished through the Power of God. If not, they would not put some 20 year old white girl in a part of Guatemala run by Guatemalan gangsters. I guess it is good that I am pretty thug. But really there is power here, there is power in fast, there is power in prayer, and there is power in service. I love Guatemala with all that is in me, I certainly am not fluent in Spanish but all is well. Nephi didnt know how to build a boat and some how he managed so I think that I will be okay . I love you all and hope that you have a wonderful week!

Con Amor,
Hermana Edwards

Leave a Reply

