Week 11 – Hello World

HELLO WORLD!!!
First off I want to thank everyone for all of the wonderful cards and emails that you send! This past week I got a card from the Durango Ward CTR 4 class and that made my life! You all are so wonderful to think of this missionary in Guatemala! I send all of the love that I have to you ALL!!

Now to start with this week. We did not have monkey uterus in fact we lived off of tortillas, because we gave all of our food away to a woman who a week ago we walked home because she was afraid her husband would come back. She warned us to be safe…… well I hope you like our oatmeal…….

We also had interviews with the President and his wife. What a blessing to have such a wonderful President. His wife is so kind and told me she thinks my mom is cute because they are friends on facebook now. President Watts taught me so well and so kind. He knows exactly what to say and how to teach in the most loving way. He told me that he thought a lot of me and challenged me to become fluent in Espanol more than just missionary fluent. So now I am waking up an hour early to spend more time in my studying of the language. All is well.

So some time ago, my dear Archibald clan found a video of my cuz Natalie and I walking and me getting mauled by a dog and Natalie was fully convinced that I enjoyed it. Well…. the same thing happened this week. This dog just came after me and down we both went. All I could think of was natalie convincing Steph that I liked it. The members thought it was so funny, at least we all got a good laugh.

My Spanish is improving every day as it should, being that I live in Guatemala. But even though it is not perfect, I have found that I really have no fear when it comes to talking to people. We were knocking on a door when I saw that a lady was pushing 2 king sized matresses in a wheel barrow up a hill. Immediatly I dropped my backpack and asked if I could help. We walked for a ways and my comps followed behind me. We talked and talked and I know it was not perfect, but I love having the opportunity to serve. I have learned that is only through service that people will open up. If we are willing to get on their level and get a little dirty and have fleas and eat monkey they will know that we are there to help them.

We also had exchanges this week and it was probably the funnest and scariest thing that we have done. There were three white sisters in our zone and we were glowing. The drunks were really after us then. But I learned so much. The sister that came with us only has 1 week left and she was so kind and really wanted to help.

Well, this week has not been jam packed but I have certainly learned a lot. The thing that I have learned that I think is the greatest importance for me right now is the fact that this is the work of the Lord, and with that I am on the time of the Lord. I am so grateful to be here. At times it is difficult but even after the hardest rainstorms that we have worked through there is always a peace after. There is always silence after the noise. There is a lot of power here and I am so grateful to be here! I love you all and hope that you all have a wonderful week!

With Love, Hermana Edwards

Leave a Reply

